A new path

Hello, my name is Greg, thank you for reading.  I should say from the outset that this is my first blog.  I have always wanted to write about something, but other than my own diary ramblings, there was nothing I felt I could post that anyone else would find particularly interesting.  But at the age of 34, I have decided to attempt a career change and this blog is an extension of that decision. As some of you may have astutely guessed from my blog’s subtitle, my current career is as a scientist- a microbiologist in fact.  I graduated from the U of Guelph, Canada with a M.Sc. in Microbiology, worked at a laboratory in Washington state for 5 years and have been working for 1.5 years at the U of Tokyo.  Without getting into the details, I am not fully satisfied with my career as a research scientist, but without a solid feeling of what to do instead, I have drifted along for several years in the lab.  Now, due to a series of fortuitous events and personal introspection I have decided the road I am traveling is just not for me.  It is a nice road, well paved with pretty scenery, but leaving me feel unfulfilled.  I want to try a different path, an uncertain one, and will have to overcome some serious hurdles to even get on it.  This blog is where I hope to share about my attempt to get on that path, the path to becoming a sake brewer. 

2 Responses to “A new path”


  1. 1 Cori February 19, 2009 at 14:22

    welcome to blogging! I can’t wait to hear about your journey!

  2. 2 martine February 20, 2009 at 00:26

    awesome. consider yourself bookmarked and much anticipated.


Leave a Reply

