Bottling

Although we are in the middle of making this season’s first batch of sake, some of last year’s brew was in need of bottling.  It was being stored in a 10,000 L tank, so we first had to move it to a smaller tank using a long hose and a powerful pump.  This sake was genshu (原酒) (undiluted sake), about 20% alcohol, and filled the brewery with a great smell.

Genshu sake being pumped into a tank before bottlingSome sake is sold as genshu, but most gets diluted with water before bottling, and that is what we did next using water drawn from the brewery’s own well (I have drank this water and it is delicious).  Immediately before bottling, the sake was pasteurized at 65C, and we then filled 1000 1.8L bottles.  Although it was nice to see finished sake roll of the line, I will feel more satisfied when we bottle this season’s sake.

Tomorrow is an exciting day; a television crew is coming to the brewery to do a story about me working there.  I will let you know how it goes!

2 Responses to “Bottling”


  1. 1 Yasutaka Mukune-Toji November 11, 2009 at 07:05

    It seems like things are going very well with you and kura.
    I have checked the site and found everyone in the brewing team are so young and fresh. Congratulations for encountering with such a perfect Kura to you.
    You are going to apear on TV.. Wish I could have watched the program..
    I look forward meeting you next time sharing many good stories from this special season for you..And enjoy your Sake, too.
    All the best..
    Yasutaka

    • 2 gjnewton November 11, 2009 at 11:26

      Thank you Daimon-san.
      Yes, things are going well- so far! Yesterday, the TV crew came and I did my best to answer questions in Japanese. It will be on TV tomorrow- I will tape it and send you a copy.
      I hope things are going well at your Kura too. Say hello to everyone for me.


Leave a Reply

