Sorry, long time no blog

In the event that there are readers of this blog who check it more than once a week, I apologize for my current lapse in entries.

In addition to my full-time work at the brewery, I am also editing scientific manuscripts on the side, or more precisely, all night when I get home for work. This week has been particularly busy.

I am therefore making a quick, but hopefully interesting, post.  In Japan, temples and shrines abound, as do the number of gods enshrined within them.  In our brewery (and many others), there is a small shrine dedicated to the god of sake.  Every morning, the owner replaces the water in the cup (I thought it was sake at first, but it turns out only at special times does he use actual sake).  The shrine is on the 2nd floor outside of the room where koji is made.  Interesting, no?

The brewery shrine

3 Responses to “Sorry, long time no blog”


  1. 1 Will Auld January 3, 2010 at 03:39

    Greg,

    OK, I have now caught up, having read all the posts. It is really great to be able to live vicariously through the posts. I wish you well on your journey.

    Will

    • 2 gjnewton January 10, 2010 at 01:01

      Thanks Will. I have been insanely busy and have been neglecting this blog, but will try harder to include more specific information!

  2. 3 Timothy Sullivan January 10, 2010 at 00:16

    Thanks for the close up shot of this shrine to the god of sake. I’ve seen them at almost every brewery I’ve gone to, but sometimes they are a little hard to photograph. very cool and interesting!

    Timothy Sullivan


Leave a Reply

