Happy (belated) New Year.

It is the Year of the Tiger, which just so happens to be my year, so it is perhaps a good omen that our second batch of the year, a Junmai Ginjo,  had a Tiger on the label:

The Year of the Tiger label

It was bottled about 3 days after pressing, and was unpasteurized, so it is Nama (as indicated by the white Chinese character 生 on the black sticker above the label).

It is now a very busy time at the brewery, and we are steaming rice every morning. It is also very cold at 5.30am when I wake up,  and getting out of the warm bed takes a special determination on my part. Homes in Japan generally do not have central heating, so I can see my breath in the morning, it is that cold.

Anyway, I will try and be more diligent with my posts this Year (not off to good start, as it is already Jan.10th), and I hope everyone has a great year of the tiger.

4 Responses to “Happy (belated) New Year.”


  1. 1 Will Auld January 15, 2010 at 07:11

    Greg,

    Happy New Years!

    I have just been working on a post about moto. For homebrew moto take 2 weeks for YamaHai moto and 1 week for Sokujo moto. However, I saw something about it taking a month for Yamahai and 2 weeks for Sokujo. I am wondering it the difference may be batch size. How long do you motos take to be ready? Do you add lactic acid?

    Thanks

    • 2 gjnewton January 15, 2010 at 09:22

      Dear Will,

      All of the motos are the brewery use the sokujo method, and they typically take 2 weeks. And yes, we do add lactic acid.
      It likely does have to do with the volume- ours range from 100-250 L.
      Hope that helps,
      greg

  2. 3 Timothy Sullivan January 16, 2010 at 22:04

    Happy New Year from NYC, Greg… and stay warm!

    Kanpai
    Timothy Sullivan

  3. 4 gjnewton January 17, 2010 at 12:29

    thanks Timothy. A happy new year to you too.
    and yes, I will try and stay warm, but easier said than done. This morning it was -12.5 Celcius, and I thought my hands were going to break off when I was lugging 30 kg bags of rice.

    greg


Leave a Reply

