Wow, beyond neglect

After receiving a nice email from my friend, Daimon-san (owner and head brewer at Daimon Sake Brewery), who encouraged me to update the Sake Chronicles, I adding my first entry in quite some time.  My sincere and deepest apologies to anyone who may have been tuning in periodically to read about my adventures.

Without getting into the specifics, I had a very interesting first winter working full-time as a kura-bito (brewery staff). It was at times grueling work, as most days it was a 6am to 6pm work day, which was then followed by several hours of scientific editing at home, but I learned a lot about the sake brewery process, substantially improved my Japanese, and received more media attention in a 4-month span than I ever have in my life. It was also the first time I have worked for 36 hours straight! A 12-hour shift at the brewery, followed by 12 hours of editing to meet a deadline, and then back to the brewery for another 12-hour shift. Sound fun? It wasn’t! So yes, it was a tough winter, but a memorable one.

It is now summer here in Saku, Nagano, and rice-planting season is well underway. As I also want to learn how to grow rice, I do not pass up opportunities to get my feet wet, literally, by helping with planting.  Last weekend I helped a husband and wife plant their rice paddy near my apartment, and today, I was part of large crew planting sake rice for a local brewery. Hand-planting rice is sure hard on the back, but is a great sense of accomplishment looking over the planted paddy and seeing all the little plants in neat rows, half-submerged in water, on their way to becoming tall plants.

Well, that is short update for now, I will update again with more news sooner than later. And if you read this Daimon-san, sorry for not posting sooner, but thanks for the encouragement!

3 Responses to “Wow, beyond neglect”


  1. 1 Will Auld June 1, 2010 at 05:56

    Thank you Daimon-san! Greg, I am glad to see you back. I figured you were extremely busy with the brewing season. Not surprising it is very hard work. Do you think it is still what you want to do with your life? Boy, that sounds so final, it is not meant to be. 🙂

    Will

  2. 2 Timothy Sullivan June 3, 2010 at 02:37

    Thanks for keeping us updated! I really can’t imagine the hard work you’ve been through, but I know it must be really rewarding when you look back on all you’ve achieved! Good luck with the rice planting. I got to try rice harvesting once in Niigata and it was so tough. Sake isn’t easy is it? but it’s so worth it. Keep up the good work!

  3. 3 Mukune Toji June 8, 2010 at 10:36

    Wonderfull and thank you, Greg-san to update.

    Yes, you can convey tons of information based on your real experience at Kura for entire one whole Winter season which all Sake lovers will enjoy and appreciate.

    You are a great missionary of sake world..

    Please remember that I am listening to your story all the time that I will learn a lot..

    Genkide-ne !

    Yasutaka


Leave a Reply

