Happy Belated New Year, Happy Belated Post

I realize the irony of calling my blog ‘sake chronicles’ and then falling off the ladder by failing to chronicle my progress in the sake world, but this time I have a good excuse! I have been extremely busy in a new, sake-related adventure.

In my post last summer, I mentioned visiting Ontario Spring Water Sake Company in Toronto, Ontario. I had introduced the head brewer to the owner (we had both worked at the same sake brewery in Saku, Nagano, Japan, albeit at different times), and stopped by for a visit. Well, things progressed from there, and since September, 2011, I have been working as the head brewer’s assistant, continuing my quest to be a sake brewer. As much as I liked living in Japan, this opportunity was too good to pass up.

So, if you are ever in Toronto and want to get a close look at a sake brewery and try some delicious, fresh, unpasteurized sake, please stop by (see the link for directions), I will be happy to show you around!

thanks for reading.

2 Responses to “Happy Belated New Year, Happy Belated Post”


  1. 1 Will Auld January 20, 2012 at 16:19

    Greg,

    Are you responsible for a lot more of the steps in the process at Spring Water? I guess I am asking if you are learning a lot more there than you were in Japan.

    Just tasted the Spring Water Sake last Monday. It is different but I could not pick out the words for it. This was after I had already tasted too many others.

    Congratulations on you new post!
    Will

  2. 2 Martine Cotton January 23, 2012 at 10:58

    WOW! So you’re back in the West? Congrats on the new post, sound like a pretty amazing opportunity. Hope you are enjoying yourself there!

    Anyway, Happy New Year, hope all is well in your world.


Leave a Reply

