666: the number of the yeast

An interesting coincidence, but one of the tanks used for our yeast starter culture has an exact volume of 666 L.

A tank for yeasty beasties

This week, we have started a new batch of sake, a junmaishu (純米酒), with hitogokochi rice milled to 60%.  I plan to describe the full process of making sake, with pictures, for this batch.

4 Responses to “666: the number of the yeast”


  1. 1 Eryn December 1, 2009 at 00:40

    Hey Greg,
    I just found your blog…
    I must say I am quite proud and envious of you. I am trying to educate myself (hands-on of course) about sake brewing. Having made one not to full-of-crap batch of sake, I am trying to learn as much as I can. Of course not being able to read, write or speak Japanese makes things a heck of a lot worse. It’s just too bad that in the states there are only a few breweries most of which are large corporations and 1 or 2 artisanal that I know of. Can’t wait to read more!
    Eryn

    • 2 gjnewton December 1, 2009 at 01:06

      Hi Eryn,
      Thanks for the encouragement.
      Glad to hear you are trying to make your own sake. I will try to include some details about the next batch we are making that may help.
      If you have any specific questions, let me know and maybe I can answer them. I am currently translating a textbook about sake making published by the Japanese Sake Brewing Association, but it is going to take a while!

  2. 3 Eryn December 1, 2009 at 03:31

    Gosh at this point, I am just not sure at what step I screwed up in the brewing process, so going to try again, adjust a few things.
    I think you could tour the world and teach weekend long sessions on sake brewing making a fortune. I will be in your first class!
    Thanks again.
    E

  3. 4 Will Auld January 3, 2010 at 03:50

    Eryn,

    Fred Eckhardt’s latest recipe and process is at http://homebrewsake.com/recipe/. It is very complete and if you have not seen it before, should be a big help.

    Greg,

    If you need/want someone to read your translation as you are working on it I would be happy to help.

    Thanks,

    Will


Leave a comment




November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30